The Presbytere was designed in 1791 to match the Cabildo, alongside St. Louis Cathedral in the French Quarter. It stands today as a beautiful reminder of both Louisiana's singular past and its vibrant present.The Presbytere, originally called Casa Curial or "Ecclesiastical House," was built on the site of the residence, or presbytere, of the Capuchin monks. The building was used for commercial purposes until 1834 when it became a courthouse. In 1911, it became part of the Louisiana State Museum. Two exhibitions are on display-"Living with Hurricanes: Katrina and Beyond" tells of rescue, rebuilding and renewal, and "Mardi Gras: It's Carnival Time in Louisiana" captures the fun and fantasy of the annual celebration.
Partial Data by Foursquare.